LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

CENTENNIAL OFFICE BUILDING, 1st FLOOR 658 CEDAR STREET TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Wednesday, June 26, 2024

Time: 9:00 a.m. to 3:10 p.m.

Location: HYBRID: Room G-23, Minnesota State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 and through electronic means (YouTube)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Rep. Jeff Backer, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Sen. Steve Green, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawj, Rep. Josh Heintzeman, Rep. Athena Hollins, Seth Moore, Jeremy Peichel, Sen. Aric Putnam, Michael Reese, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Staff Present: B. Nash, M. Varien, M. Campana, L. Bigaouette, D. Griffith

Members Excused: Shona Langseth

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Rep. Rick Hansen

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

1. Roll call attendance

Chair Hansen asked for a roll call. Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 11 members present at the time of roll call, and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Attendance	Member	Attendance
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	Yes (remote)	Commissioner Heintzeman	Absent
Commissioner Albrecht	Yes	Commissioner Hollins – Rep	Yes
Commissioner Backer – Rep	Yes (remote)	Commissioner Langseth	Excused
Commissioner Faber	Yes	Commissioner Moore	Yes (remote)
Commissioner Gibson	Yes	Commissioner Peichel	Yes (remote)
Commissioner Green – Sen	Absent	Commissioner Putnam – Sen	Yes (remote)
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Yes	Commissioner Reese	Yes (remote)
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	Absent	Commissioner Westrom – Sen	Absent

2. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Commissioner Hawj joined the meeting remotely.

Commissioner Westrom joined the meeting remotely.

Commissioner Heintzeman joined the meeting remotely.

Commissioner Green joined the meeting remotely.

Agenda Item 02a

Phone: (651) 296-2406

Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov

Email: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

Members reported the following conflicts of interest:

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members With Conflict of Interest
2025-078	Bradley	Heins	Agrivoltaics 2.0 Building a Resilient E- Farm	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2025-122	Jenni	Bubke	Local Parks, Trails, and Natural Areas Grant Programs	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2025-182	Karlin	Ziegler	Lake Zumbro Park Water Access and Site Improvements	Olmsted County	Shona Langseth
2025-241	Joel	Tallaksen	Foundational Precision Agriculture Data to Reduce Environmental Impacts	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2025-309	Michelle	Carstensen	Recruitment and Fecundity of Minnesota Moose	MN DNR, Fish and Wildlife Division	Seth Moore

3. Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2025 Proposal Presentations (FY26) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 26, 2024.

Members recessed at 11:45 a.m. for a lunch break and reconvened at 12:30 p.m.

4. Continuation of Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2025 Proposal Presentations (FY26) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 26, 2024.

5. LCCMR Other Business

a. Strategic Planning Update

Mike Campana provided an update on the strategic planning subcommittee discussions.

Members discussed restrictions on capital projects within the ML 2025 request for proposals (RFP).

6. Public Testimony

There was no public testimony.

7. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 2:38 p.m.