

LEGISLATIVE-CITIZEN COMMISSION ON MINNESOTA RESOURCES

100 REV. DR. MARTIN LUTHER KING JR. BLVD. **ROOM 65 STATE OFFICE BUILDING** TRUST FUND ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA 55155-1201

Phone: (651) 296-2406 Email: lccmr@lccmr.mn.gov Web: www.lccmr.mn.gov

Becca Nash, Director

MINUTES

Tuesday, June 27, 2023

Time: 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

Location: HYBRID: Room 120, Minnesota State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155 and through electronic means (YouTube)

Members Present: Rep. Patty Acomb, Rita Albrecht, Rep. Jeff Backer, William Faber, Nancy Gibson, Sen. Steve Green, Rep. Rick Hansen, Sen. Foung Hawj, Rep. Josh Heintzeman, Rep. Athena Hollins, Seth Moore, Sen. Kelly Morrison, Jeremy Peichel, Michael Reese

Staff Present: B. Nash, M. Varien, C. Layfield, M. Campana, N. Fribley, D. Griffith

Members Excused: Sen. Kari Dziedzic, Shona Langseth, Sen. Torrey Westrom

Members Absent:

Co-Chair: Rep. Rick Hansen

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

1. Roll call attendance

Chair Hansen asked for a roll call. Diana Griffith took roll call for attendance. There were 11 members present at the time of roll call, and nine were needed for a quorum.

Member	Y	N	Member	Υ	N
Commissioner Acomb - Rep	X (remote)		Commissioner Heintzeman – Rep	absent	
Commissioner Albrecht	Х		Commissioner Hollins – Rep	Х	
Commissioner Backer – Rep	X (remote)		Commissioner Langseth	excused	
Commissioner Dziedzic - Sen	excused		Commissioner Moore	X (remote)	
Commissioner Faber	Х		Commissioner Morrison – Sen	X (remote)	
Commissioner Gibson	Х		Commissioner Peichel	Х	
Commissioner Green - Sen	excused		Commissioner Reese	absent	
Commissioner Hansen – Rep	Х		Commissioner Westrom – Sen	excused	
Commissioner Hawj – Sen	X (remote)				

2. Approve the minutes for June 22, 2023 and June 23, 2023

MOTION: Commissioner Hollins moved to approve the minutes for June 22, 2023 and June 23, 2023 – motion prevailed.

3. Members report potential conflicts of interest regarding today's business

Members reported the following conflict of interests for 2024 (FY25):

Proposal ID	First Name	Last Name	Project Title	Organization	Members With Conflict of Interest
2024-022	Shannon	Wettstein	Morrison County Historical Society Streambank Stabilization and Restoration	Morrison Soil and Water Conservation District	William Faber
2024-064	Audrey	Mularie	Local Parks, Trails and Natural Areas Grant Programs	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2024-076	Eric	Buchanan	Improving Agricultural Ecosystems through Autonomous Weed Control	U of MN, WCROC	Michael Reese
2024-136	Kent	Skaar	Minnesota State Trails Development	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel
2024-139	Alison	Nyenhuis	The Boundary Waters is Our Backyard	Friends of the Boundary Waters Wilderness	Kelly Morrison
2024-277	Edward	Quinn	Growing the Minnesota Bison Conservation Herd	MN DNR, State Parks and Trails Division	Jeremy Peichel

4. Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2024 Proposal Presentations (FY25) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 27, 2023.

Commissioner Green joined the meeting.

Commissioner Heintzeman joined the meeting remotely.

Commissioner Reese joined the meeting remotely.

Lunch Break

Members recessed at 11:40 a.m. and reconvened at 12:33 p.m.

5. Continuation of Environment and Natural Resources Trust Fund 2024 Proposal Presentations (FY25) – see attached schedule (subject to change)

See Attachment #1 for Presentation Schedule for June 27, 2023.

6. LCCMR Other Business

There was no other business.

7. Public Testimony

There was no public testimony.

8. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 3:01 p.m.